A year and 2 days…

As I sit on the field looking at our beautiful girls it suddenly strikes me how far we have come.

A short year that has been packed with learning, change and figuring out how to live without you.

I was determined to get to sports day, to celebrate these wonderful little people. As Heidi finished her raced I fought back tears, they came anyway. Last year they played your song on the speakers and it came like a flood. Sat here in the same field, there are no knowing looks, no head tilts, no “I’m sorry”. I am smiling and so are they.

I’m glad. The time has put that space between us in a way that hurts beyond belief, but it has gifted us with a sense of peace. I am a parent in a field watching her children succeed.

I know you are here. I see you in their determined faces. Their smiles. Their pure enjoyment. We taught them that together. You have taught them more than you could ever know.

A year brings a fresh set of memories. A celebration of how we have survived, continued. A new year of firsts that aren’t… this is not the first day without you. I have done many. And it feels wonderful. I know I can do this.

And as Isobel streaks for the finish line I remember the advice she once gave you. “I know how to run marathons Daddy. When your legs get tired you just have to tell them not to stop”.

4 thoughts on “A year and 2 days…

  1. I’m 66 I’ve met a lot of people but in the short time I knew Ben he made a difference to me in how he faced adversity with courage and determination. When times were difficult he never failed to be positive and optimistic. He cared about people when we would have forgiven him for only thinking of himself. He helped me face my tough times. I still miss him too
    Wishing love to all the family x

    Like

  2. Rev Graham Cutler

    Again your reflections are honest and sensitive. Do I sense a book emerging?
    May God continue to inspire and bless you as you learn to live life in a new way.

    Like

  3. You are wonderful at writing your thoughts Louise…you always make me feel a lump in my throat yet I always have a smile after reading your blog. Ben would be watching sportsday with utter pride of your beautiful girls…and pride in you xxxx.

    Like

Leave a comment